The Author Bio

thinkDoes anyone truly enjoy talking about themselves?  Let me rephrase that.  Can anyone talk about themselves and not sound like a complete pompous jerk?

I have a horrible time writing about myself.  I start to wonder if what I am saying matters to anyone but me. As a reader what do we want to know about the author that wrote the book?  Do you want something quick and reflective of the authors personality?  Or do you want something long, telling an entire short story of the author?

Because the author blurb is about me, I decided that short and quick were best.  I have no idea if I touched any areas that a reader might want to know.  Even being in the reader seat, I often never even read author bios.  So,  maybe it doesn’t matter?

So, what I did was a few sentences on what makes my writing journey unique and then something personal that isn’t everyday average.  Maybe I missed the mark, but there is always room to improve then.

What’s your take on it?  If you are an author do you have a formula?  If you are a reader, do you read the author bio and if so, what do you want to know?

Related Posts:

Jamie Ayers

Jennifer M Eaton

Interactiveblend

5 thoughts on “The Author Bio

Leave a Reply

