Regrets on the Trail of Submissions

I will give me self a little bit of leeway this time.  It won’t make anything better but it is the reality and might make me feel less like a failure.  I wrote and edited a short story in less than two weeks.  That sounds like lots of time but it isn’t for me.  My writing didn’t happen until sometime after ten o’clock at night.  Generally weekends aren’t any better for various other reasons, one being my yard is in different states of repair.

That all being said I know I made a few miscalculations in the query letter alone.  The tag line is still okay, I think.  The first sentence of my summary is awkward.  So right there I know I am pretty much going to get passed up on.  One more lesson learned.  I need more than a few hours to edit and re-edit but I guess I already knew that.   Why oh why could I not see the error’s of my ways before I submitted.

I do know for sure that the best way to see my mistakes is by submitting my work.  That needs to change. I so want to write the publisher I submitted to and explain that the story is really cute, I just need guidance.  <Sigh>  But no that is socially unacceptable.

I suppose I will improve the next time, but isn’t it always the next time?

How do you make it through your own mistakes after submission?  I am writing a blog post and already thinking up my next story to improve on.

7 thoughts on “Regrets on the Trail of Submissions

  1. Quanie Mitchell says:

    I have experienced regret after sending something. The truth is that sometimes they’ll overlook mistakes and read what you have anyway and sometimes they won’t. It sucks at the time but it makes you look everything over with eagle eye precision the next go round. I have a policy; read it, let it sit, reread it, print it and read it, let it sit again, then print it and read it again. It takes longer, but I have found less mistakes that way. I look at some things I’ve sent in haste and they are really cringe worthy so I feel your pain!

    • M. Ziegler says:

      I’d have thought I’d learned by now but no. I need an editing robot…do those exist yet? I pray that this publisher overlooks…but I have a gut feeling they won’t. Will anything we ever submit be perfect though? Thanks for your thoughts.

  2. juliesanocki says:

    That can be frustrating! I’m still early in my writing journey, but sometimes I really struggle with when to send a piece in. I know that every time I look at something, I find a few little things that I want to tweak. At some point I have to just cross my fingers and press “send” or I’d never finish anything!

  3. Paul says:

    I haven’t submitted anything to editors or agents yet. However, when I do I plan on leaning heavily on my writing critique group friends to help me catch the obvious mistakes.

    When I do submit things, for writing contests and stuff, I tend to put up an emotional barrier after I have hit the send button. Because after that point, there is no use worrying because it is out of my hands.

    • M. Ziegler says:

      I think that leaning a critique group is great and if you have a grammar guru that helps. The issue is that they usually don’t look at your whole book and I myself still miss things that I know I should have caught. Good luck on your journey!

  4. Katherine Checkley says:

    I haven’t had any luck with the lit mags and my short stories. I think it’s related to what you’re saying…I’m so anxious to get my work out there that I don’t stop and make sure my story is truly submission-ready. Oftentimes, I’ll send it out, then look at it again and see all kinds of issues with the piece. I think patience is a virtue, and I must practice it!

    • M. Ziegler says:

      Patience… what is that 🙂 That is my number one enemy when it comes to edits. I hate to edit and know I can sometimes hurry or my eyes glaze over in boredom. I tried to re-read several times due to this fact but I still miss things that I want to scream over. I guess this is growing as a writer right?

Leave a Reply

