A Week in “Review”

Here are some new reviews and a few from my backlog that needed some love.  Can I just say that I love the fact I am finding so many great reads out there!  I just want to say, the biggest reason I give a 5 star review is that the book stuck with me.  I loved it and then remembered it.  I nearly had withdrawals leaving it. Without further delay – here they are.

A Wizard RisesA Wizard Rises by A.J. Nuest

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is the book I’ve apparently been waiting for. I love this series, but this book is my favorite. I can’t say if it’s the devotion of Rhys or the strength in Faedrah. I am for sure in love with Rhys though.

This book shows the struggles of the kingdom and how Rhys has his work cut out for him. He comes into his powers, the ones he genetically inherited but never knew. The fact that he is willing to risk everything for the woman he loves and continuously demonstrates this is the epitome of romance for me. The ending is still unresolved, but Rhys and Faedrah are together.

I can’t say what i love best about this book. The book on a whole satisfies the part of me that wants to be a princess that needs a little saving, while being strong enough to make a stance for what matters most.

I can’t wait for the last book.

The Sacrifice (The Golden Key Legacy #2)The Sacrifice by A.J. Nuest

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’m addicted! Ms. Nuest picks right back up where A Furious Muse picks up. Within a page or two I was swept back into the world of the Golden Key Chronicles. The only issue I had is yet another cliff hanger and the wait between books. THEY ARE THAT GOOD.

This book figures out something that is going to help with the kingdom and now it has to be found. The danger is walking back into the layer of “Leo” who is back and creepier than ever. This book has a chill factor and an ending that will have you turning all the lights on. Good news, you get some steamy action and Rys goes around shirtless.

A Case for CalamityA Case for Calamity by Mackenzie Crowne

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a super sweet and quick read. You can’t go wrong with instant attraction-oh and a hero that is a little bit cowboy, a little bit business, and a whole lot of sexy.

The heroine is strong and out to prove she can make it on her own. I love that she doesn’t fall into the routine of so many books out there – stay with Mr. Tall, Dark, and Rich. (Okay, so I would have stayed.)

You can’t go wrong with a headstrong heroine and a love struck hero. The ending is satisfying and will leave you smiling. You might still be craving a little bit of Calamity Jane and her sexy cowboy though.

Into the Fire (Birth of the Phoenix #1)Into the Fire by Ashelyn Drake

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What’s not to love! First love, first kisses, and steamy screens. Really steamy-because Cara is a Phoenix. The idea is original and new. I’ve not read anything about a mythical bird/human hybrid ever. I love Cara and Logan’s chemistry and the way they are drawn to each other, like real teens. Everything seems realistic and I’m drawn into the small town of Ashlan Falls.

The bad guy is hinted at towards the center of the story and is a surprise when you figure it out. It’s a twist that I thoroughly enjoyed and it worked great. There is no love triangle, and in mind that is a good thing. Cara knows her heart. She’s a strong female character who makes you understand each moves she makes.

The only issue I have is that it ends on a bit of a cliff hanger and I have to wait for the next book.

View all my reviews

 

Leave a Reply

