The Color Green -IWSG

 

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

It’s that time again. (Actually I am a little late) A post for the Insecure Writers Support Group.

The color green as in “you are green with envy” isn’t a good color for most. Don’t get me wrong, green and red are great for Christmas.  Green makes grass look healthy.  But jealousy isn’t a good look on anyone.

I try as I might to fight off the green monster of envy.  I try not to be jealous that someone is successfully selling their books, or has a lot of reviews.  I try not to be angry because a friend of my promotes someone’s business or compliments someone’s hobby and never mine.

I think the problem for me is that the jealousy is laced with hurt.  Why wasn’t I good enough?  Are we not friends?  Did I not do enough for you?  So I step back.  I work hard to make my friends and family know they are all important.  I try to review all the authors out there and do so kindly.  I try and promote authors and friends equally (well except during a release week-special treatment is deserved for that author.)  I do what I can and in the end if I am not noticed or not important enough to someone, than I suppose I step back and remember that I am not helping or being kind for anything in return.  I do so, because I don’t want anyone to feel like they aren’t awesome or aren’t special.  It’s just that sometimes that is easier said than done.

So I am not posting this because I want something in return. I am posting this so that people know. If I do something for you it’s because I care.  I want you to know one person out there thinks you were worth the time to review or worth the happy birthday shout out.  If you have hundreds of followers, two thumbs up.  If you have one follower?  Well I am your biggest fan.  Just don’t forget to share the love with others. I guess they call it pay it forward.  Share the happy feeling I gave you with someone else who needs a happy feeling too. It doesn’t cost anything to make someone smile.

 

So how many of you fight jealousy? I hope I’m not alone.  I think everyone envies someone, even the New York Times best seller sees something they have yet to be or achieve.  Human nature is complex, don’t you think?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Visit other bloggers in the Insecure Writers Support Group !  (A blog hop that posts the first Wednesday of every month, founded by Head Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh.)  Thanks to his co-hosts this month too!

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

Posting: The first Wednesday of every month is officially Insecure Writer’s Support Group day. Post your thoughts on your own blog. Talk about your doubts and the fears you have conquered. Discuss your struggles and triumphs. Offer a word of encouragement for others who are struggling. Visit others in the group and connect with your fellow writer – aim for a dozen new people each time.

 

One thought on “The Color Green -IWSG

  1. jamieayres says:

    You are never alone! Feeling jealous is human . . . it’s one of those things we can’t help and if people say they can, then they may be a pathological liar. But we can train ourselves to take the higher road, which it seems you have. Believe me, I can relate. One of my own sisters didn’t even congratulate me on the release of the final book in my trilogy . . . no shout outs on FB, no text message, nothing. And she’s one of those people on FB allll the time, taking pictures of every meal . . . . it hurt. But of course I didn’t say anything. She’ll just act like it was nothing personal like she always does. I think people who aren’t writers Just. Don’t. Get. It. Most of my family does view this author thing as just a hobby, not my life dream or anything. That’s fine. They don’t have to get it. But what bothers me is when I have every friend and family member telling me they can’t wait to buy my book, and then I hardly sell any during release week. That’s what bothers me. Don’t flatter me. I’m not into that. Ya know? Anyway, I think you’re awesome, and I’m here for you if you ever need to vent!

Leave a Reply

