Sharing Your Opinion -IWSG

 

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

 

I’ve been pulling out my hair for a year now.  What is the best way to get a review?  I have become better and better about leaving them myself, because I now realize just how hard it is to get them.  I scratch my head and wonder, why is it that so many people are ready to give their opinions, yet book reviews are scarce?

My policy, although I am not a book reviewer and blogger, is for my own personal benefit.  I will only review books that have a 4 and 5 star rating in my mind.  I don’t want to destroy someone’s online presence just because their book didn’t work for me. If I truly feel like a book is a three star, but I have positive things to say, then I might leave a review.  I don’t normally care about grammar either.  Did the book capture me or not?

I suppose my point is, leaving a review is the easiest and cheapest way to thank an author for what they do.  It will help other customers in their search too. What makes you leave a review and what holds you back?

Lets get out there and show some love to indie and small published authors.  Even some of the big guys could use the help.

Incase you didn’t know I have a free read out there too.  Sometimes helping out an author doesn’t have to cost a thing.

giveaway

For those looking for my giveaway, click here.

Giveaway~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Visit other bloggers in the Insecure Writers Support Group !  (A blog hop that posts the first Wednesday of every month, founded by Head Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh.)  Thanks to his co-hosts this month too!

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

Posting: The first Wednesday of every month is officially Insecure Writer’s Support Group day. Post your thoughts on your own blog. Talk about your doubts and the fears you have conquered. Discuss your struggles and triumphs. Offer a word of encouragement for others who are struggling. Visit others in the group and connect with your fellow writer – aim for a dozen new people each time.

 

6 thoughts on “Sharing Your Opinion -IWSG

  1. Carrie-Anne says:

    The books I tend to review by my blog are typically old, not anything modern, though I’d love to find more recently-published historicals to review. Most of the people I’ve met in the writing blogosphere seem to write anything but my own genre, so it’s harder to find these books to review.

    • M. Ziegler says:

      If you are looking for historicals to review, my publisher has one out currently and one on the way. They are non traditional romances-or the first is. Their review policy is to have a medium following. I can send you the info if your interested. I don’t write historical darn it all. But still, there are other out there I’m sure. If you want a sneer peek at the romance I’m talking about, a first chapter is free on Amazon. It’s a little spoiler to he first book though, since it’s the sequel. love’s revenge by Terri Rochenski.

  2. terrirochenski says:

    Ah yes…the old ripping out of the hair over garnering reviews. It’s definitely the toughest part of being a writer. I’ve sent out TONS of requests for each release, and I’m lucky to nab two from them.

    Guess we just gotta keep on keeping on, huh? Wish there was an easier way, though. If you find one, LET ME KNOW!

  3. dolorah says:

    Like you, I only publish a review if I can give it at least a 3. I write a review for every book I read from my author friends – with that 3 star rating in mind. If I didn’t like it and I know the author well enough I will send an e-mail with my feedback so they know I at least read the book. Not every story is for every reader though.

Leave a Reply

