Free Reads Inspire the Best and the Worst in People -IWSG

 

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

 

It’s the first Wednesday of the month!  That means I get to post my insecurities-or whatever I need to post about, I suppose.  This month though, it has to do with an insecurity.  My publisher is celebrating their anniversary this month.  To help celebrate, several authors offered up free reads. The hope is to not only celebrate, but also spread the word about us.  Free reads can be a great idea.  But in my mind it can also open the stories up to people that not normally give you a chance, but it also opens you up to some of the overly critical.  Good news though.  Most people never leave reviews.

That is so frustrating.  Not only will I not know if my free read is inspiring people to follow me, but I’ll never know if there was something that I should have done differently.  In the end I write for me and whatever makes me smile.  It’s nice to know sometimes though, if people appreciate what you wrote.  After all, as humans, we are all a little vain.  Even if we try not to be.  So there you have it.  I have a free story out right now and would love to have your read it.  Better yet?  I’d love it if it inspired you to want to read my other short stories, and hopefully someday soon, my full length novels.

My goal after running a free story is to get my first standalone novel done and then become a best seller-hehe, okay sorry.  Just had to add my wish list at the end.  OHHHH and I have another short story coming out in October.  Details to be shared later.  This is no a fun lighthearted contemporary romance.  So it will be interesting to see what people think if it.

Thanks Jamie for the reminder that it was indeed time to post.  In the mean time I’m still making a go of freelance web design.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Visit other bloggers in the Insecure Writers Support Group !  (A blog hop that posts the first Wednesday of every month, founded by Head Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh.)  Thanks to his co-hosts this month too!!

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

Posting: The first Wednesday of every month is officially Insecure Writer’s Support Group day. Post your thoughts on your own blog. Talk about your doubts and the fears you have conquered. Discuss your struggles and triumphs. Offer a word of encouragement for others who are struggling. Visit others in the group and connect with your fellow writer – aim for a dozen new people each time.

 

One thought on “Free Reads Inspire the Best and the Worst in People -IWSG

  1. jamieayres says:

    Hahaha, you’re welcome! I’ve found that opening it up for free reads doesn’t really help . . . for whatever reason, people don’t really value ‘free’ unless you’re already a best seller *sigh*

Leave a Reply

