Finding the Next Step -IWSG

 

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

 

Everyone comes to that point in their life where you face a crossroad.  I’m there.  Okay, honestly I think I’m at some kind of maze in the road.  My entire life seems to be meeting different changes and opportunities.

In writing, I’ve come to the point where I LOVE my publisher, but I’ve always dreamed of an agent.  My current novel is still in the editing stages, but what do I do once I’m ready?  Do I submit to agents and see how it goes?  It sort of feels like cheating on my current publisher.

I think the key to writing and small publishers is diversity.  It’s a good way to get your name out there by diversifying.  I’ve seen this with several authors I love.  It also helps your other publishers, new fans.   All the same though, I’ve always dreamed of an agent and being in a big publishing house.  Times are changing and I can’t say I know what the right road is.  What do you think?

In the mean time I’m still making a go of freelance web design.  Maybe there is a chance writing will start to pay a bit better, but I wonder if an agent might be the key.  Wouldn’t we all love to make money doing what we enjoy?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Visit other bloggers in the Insecure Writers Support Group !  (A blog hop that posts the first Wednesday of every month, founded by Head Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh.)  Thanks to his co-hosts this month too! Sarah Foster, Joylene Nowell Butler, Lily Eva, and Rhonda Albom!

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

Posting: The first Wednesday of every month is officially Insecure Writer’s Support Group day. Post your thoughts on your own blog. Talk about your doubts and the fears you have conquered. Discuss your struggles and triumphs. Offer a word of encouragement for others who are struggling. Visit others in the group and connect with your fellow writer – aim for a dozen new people each time.

 

5 thoughts on “Finding the Next Step -IWSG

  1. Loni Townsend says:

    The road is different for each person. I say go for the agent if that’s your dream. Maybe be upfront with your current publisher about doing so. Tell them your ideas about helping bring in new fans. They might have agent recommendations, because if you succeed, they succeed. Best of luck!

    Loni

Leave a Reply

