One Hit Wonder

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

It’s the first Wednesday of the month!  What does the camel say (for those that have seen the commercials) “What day is it? – Hump Day!”
It’s also the day of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group, hosted by Head Ninja, Alex J. Cavanaugh. There are some co-hosts this month too: Jamie Ayers, Sheena-kay Graham, Julie Musil, and Mike L. Swift.  Thanks everyone.

**********What’s your fear?  No really.  What is your greatest fear?  It isn’t success.  It’s what comes after success.  Okay – maybe that isn’t your greatest fear.  I would imagine though it is a fear all the same.  I love accomplishment.  I love success.  I hate failure or letting others down.

So, if you got published the pressure is on.  You have to keep writing now.  You have to keep writing and keep your readers happy.  But what is you can’t or don’t?

I sure hope as a writer you wanted to write, not for the money (do i hear laughter?), but because you had something to share.  I know I did.  There is literally something in my soul that drives me to write.  You wouldn’t have ever guessed that the timid girl who couldn’t spell to save her life would grow up to write anything.  But I did.

Now I have to keep writing.  But I would have done that anyway.  Published or not.  The self doubt of ‘am i good enough,’ Hasn’t diminished because a publisher saw my value.  I feel worried that my next story won’t be as good as the first and will disappoint people.  Or what if the next story I write doesn’t get published at all?

Well, lets take the nay-Sayers of the world and put them to use.  Say nay to all those bad voices and move on.  We write, not because of the next book, not because you might be the next big author, but because your soul tells you to.

If you let the doubt win and you stop doing what you love, you could become a One Hit Wonder.  Say nay and have a wonderful Wednesday.

Visit other bloggers in the Insecure Writers Support Group !

12 thoughts on “One Hit Wonder

  1. Loni Townsend says:

    I don’t fear being a one hit wonder, so much as I worry that I won’t be able to finish my subsequent books in a timely fashion. I write when I get the opportunity, but what if that’s not enough? Like your line: _You have to keep writing now. You have to keep writing and keep your readers happy. But what is you can’t or don’t?_ That’s exactly it!

    • M. Ziegler says:

      It looks like you have young kids too! I get it. I write in the wee hours of the morning and some days not at all. Life gets in the way. One thing I find myself doing is plotting throughout the day (in my not-so steel trap of a mind) and as soon as I get a handle on it, I’ll jot down anything i don’t want to forget on a sticky note and then write as soon as my disasters are sleeping. Oh and I only do one book at a time. If something beckons me, I paraphrase the idea in a file and save for later. YOU WILL CAN DO IT 🙂

  2. Carrie-Anne says:

    I hope I won’t be a one-hit wonder, since I have so many books waiting in the wings due to putting my lifelong dream of publication on the back burner for so long. At least I have connections in my small city and on my blog, and have been told by my former boss (a newspaper editor) that she’ll be happy to give me free publicity in the paper.

  3. Sommer Leigh says:

    This is a great topic and one we don’t tend to worry too much about until our first book is in front of us and ready to go out in the world. Author Elizabeth Gilbert has a wonderful TED Talk where she talks at length about the fear of writing the follow-up to her bestseller. Like, what do you do when you’ve done what you set out to do? It’s here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86x-u-tz0MA

    Happy February IWSG!
    Sommer

  4. jamieayres says:

    I love to write, but I do doubt I’ll have the energy to publish books forever . . . there is more to life, ya know? Maybe if I could actually make a living doing it, I’d feel differently.

Leave a Reply

