Thoughtful Tuesday – No Magic Answer

Chasing around my bare-bottomed toddler should be rather comical.  How often do you remove a diaper and get to watch small little legs suddenly get a burst of energy and hear squeals of exquisite joy?  Well PottyI suppose with a toddler, often.  They never do as told.  The issue is that her bare-bottom should be on the toilet and not streaking across my kitchen.  There is no magic answer to potty training.  Just because something worked for my friend doesn’t mean it will work for us.

The same goes for success or publication or making a million dollars.  Just because someone successful said that something was the answer doesn’t mean it will work for you. If everything had steadfast rules we would all be rich or doing our dream jobs.

Some days I would love for the lucky people to just brush against my arm.  Pass on some of that luck.  In the mean time I will take the advice given to me and when it doesn’t work I will try things my way.  But please, oh Please let me get one child out of diapers!

How about you?  Do you get hounded about how you did something successfully by the eager?

I know eager writers are always looking for the answer to publication and the truth is that it’s all subjective and partially timing.  Of course taking advice on how to polish a manuscript with grammar and  other industry rules doesn’t hurt either.

6 thoughts on “Thoughtful Tuesday – No Magic Answer

  1. Melissa Kinnel (@TizMellyMel) says:

    I, too, wish some luck fairy would wave a magic wand my way but I know that’s not a reality. So for all of the writing “advice” I read, I have to figure out what will work for me.

    Good luck with the potty training. My kids are two and a half years apart. When I was pregnant with my youngest, my oldest was still wearing pull-ups and I feared he wouldn’t be out of them before the baby was born. One day, he just got it thank goodness! Don’t worry, it will happen before you know it.

    • M. Ziegler says:

      OH I pray she get it at some point. She showed so much interest one day and then none the next. There is sooooo much writing advice I think it is too overwhelming. I follow the people I have learned to trust and still in the end follow my gut! If something is very opinionated sounding to me I usually drop it and silently (and sometimes not) say to myself ‘just because you are published doesn’t mean you are perfect.” I know a lot of authors that still get MOUNTAINS of edits with every submission. The good news of them sharing their experiences vs their opinions is that you are hearing one editor or publishers opinions and those can be helpful.

  2. jamieayres says:

    Well, I will share all I’ve learned from my personal publishing journey on a blog post soon . . . but of course, that doesn’t mean it’ll work for everyone! I agree that it takes perfect timing as well:-)

    • M. Ziegler says:

      Defiantly share! Sure it might not work for everyone, but it still gives people a look at the other side of things. And who knows you might say one thing that changes the life of someone else.

  3. Katie Checkley says:

    One day in my yoga class, the instructor said that nothing is ever 100% right. That we must listen to all of it and take it all in. That way we can decide what is best for us. What we believe and what we don’t believe. And you’re absolutely right. Listen to the success stories of any two authors and they will be completely different.

    Love the potty training analogy 🙂

    • M. Ziegler says:

      Thanks. I am sure that potty training was a little crude, but hey it’s the truth. Anyway I seriously feel like it needed to be said – the no correct answer not the potty story. So many people swear that they have the sure way to do it all and in the end each person will have different results.

Leave a Reply

