Thoughful Tuesday – My Affair with Social Media

As I settled into bed, shimmying beneath my plush comforter, I proceeded to tap at the screen of my phone.  The little blue icon, Facebook, looked back at me as I pressed on it and waited to see what all my friends had done for the weekend.media

What times we live in to realize that getting in touch with our friends involves social media instead of a phone call.  You no longer just drop by – which to me and my chaos filled home is a good thing.  But really when did the transition happen?  For the social introverts social media might be a great way for them to branch out to people they might have otherwise shied away from, but to the remainder of the world is this good or bad?

I think I have a better relationship with my phone and computer then I do with people.  I do know what everyone is up to though.  It does occur to me that social media has done a favor for humanity.  Those that are on a rampage post – therefore you know who to avoid.

What about you?  How are your human interactions coming along?

 Writing Status – Restarted my last manuscript.  Complete re-write and a million times improved.  Granted I am only 400 words in. 

8 thoughts on “Thoughful Tuesday – My Affair with Social Media

  1. Kelly Hashway says:

    Yes, most of my interactions take place online, but this weekend I got to meet a lot of people I talk to through email, FB, Twitter, etc, and let me say that meeting them in person was incredible. Nothing beats that. 🙂

    • M. Ziegler says:

      You had an awesome opportunity this weekend. Most agents and publishers say in person meetings are worth a lot! You’re lucky to live on the east coast with all the happenings-minus hurricanes.

    • M. Ziegler says:

      We have come so far on the internet! I haven’t actually found people near me yet, but I am finding some great people to talk with about random things. I just don’t think I ever saw the internet becoming my way to keep up with people. As you said though, if it weren’t for facebook and twitter there is a lot we’d miss out on.

  2. Katie Checkley says:

    This is a good question and I have ambivalent feelings on it. I remember as a kid watching my mom talk to her girlfriends on the phone for hours…the long, curly cord following her through the kitchen, etc. In high school, I, myself would chat with my friends for hours. And you’re right…at some point it just stopped. I don’t know when or how it happened, but I don’t really like talking on the phone anymore…and I don’t really think that’s a good thing! I don’t have kids yet, but one day I think it will kind of sad that my children won’t hear my end of the conversation (well that’s not always a good thing either :)) with my friends. Watching my mom interact with her friends actually taught me a lot about socialization, etc. Who knows for sure if we’re really losing out on something or not.

    • M. Ziegler says:

      I don’t really like calling people anymore. It almost feels like an intrusion of their privacy. It’s sort of like going and knocking on someones door. What ever happened to social etiquette where you knew that you didn’t call after a certain time unless something happened, via phone or door – to texting and emailing at all hours. It’s just odd. But I guess we are less invasive as a society – or at least with personal friends.

Leave a Reply

