Fun Fact Friday – Jane’s Success or Not

Who want’s to always hear my thoughts? Although I am sure there are a million hands out there being held high, I am still going to spare you.  On Friday I hope to reserve posts  for a fun fact about writing, publishing, authors, books, and I think you get the point.

The first two of Jane Austen’s novels which she submitted for publication were met with disdain by the publishers. One was turned down out without being read, the other was bought and never published during Jane’s life. Which two novels were they?

Pride and Prejudice and Northanger Abbey.  

Doesn’t that Just sum up some publishers.

“Pride and Prejudice” (first named “First Impressions”) was dismissed and returned unopened by the publisher Cadell in 1797.

“Northanger Abbey” (first named “Susan”) was bought by Cosby and Co. publishers in 1803. When they didn’t publish it, it was subsequently bought back from them by her brother Henry and it was published by Murray in 1817 after JA’s death.

4 thoughts on “Fun Fact Friday – Jane’s Success or Not

  1. Katherine Checkley says:

    Wow…who would have thought? The Bronte sisters had to write under male pseudonyms in order to get published. And poor Emily Dickinson! Great idea for blog posts. I’ll be sure to be checking them out. By the way, I love Northhanger Abbey. One of her more underrated ones I think.

    • M. Ziegler says:

      I guess we should take that as a blessing that although everything is tough we have a better chance then they did. I don’t want to wait to die just to become famous. I think it is interessting how so many writers got their starts so I hope that these posts are fun and in some cases inspirational. Thanks for your comments on Emily and the Bronte sisters! I will add them to the line up. Also huge influences in writing.

Leave a Reply

