Just Keep Writing, Just Keep Writing

Does anyone else hear Dory from Finding Nemo every time you run into a snag? Bad critiques, harsh criticisms, lack of time, you name it there is a reason to repeat after Dory “just keep swimming, just keep swimming.” Adapt her saying to your own life of course.

I was writing a blog post for my mommy blog and realized that being a mom is pretty darn hard and so is being a writer.  In both cases you have no clue if you are going to ever get a return. With a child it could take eighteen years before you see how badly you screwed up your kid.  For writing, well, pray to God it doesn’t take eighteen years to see if you’re worth anything.  Either way though, you aren’t really in control of anything except for today.  So when the writing gets tough keep on going.  Break through the barrier of doubt and find the hope inside yourself that told you you were a writer when you started.

Janet Evonovich actually has a webpage where she addresses that it took her ten years!!

“What if I send my book to a lot of agents and none of them wants to represent me?

JANET: If being a writer is important to you, keep at it, keep improving, and don’t give up. I wrote three books that were never published. I sent the first one out to everybody. I went through every agent and publisher in New York, twice. The only positive letter that I got back was from an agent, but it was written in purple crayon on a bar napkin, so I didn’t follow up on it. Then, presto, ten years later I was a published author.”

I have been seriously writing for six years now and am hoping to find an agent and publisher with my current WIP.

How long did you write before finding representation, or how long have you been writing so far, as you continue to dream of the day you get signed?

6 thoughts on “Just Keep Writing, Just Keep Writing

  1. Katherine Checkley says:

    Thanks for the encouragement. We all need it once in a while. I love the Dory reference 🙂 I’m still polishing my novel, but plan to begin my agent search soon. Very nervous, but yes. Can’t give up.

  2. Kiersi says:

    Phew. We all need a boost like that sometimes–someone to believe in us no matter what! You have to do the same for yourself, too. Ursula K. Le Guin tried for 10 or 12 years to get something other than poetry published.

    I have a publisher, but no agent yet, which is a weird position to be in. The thing it has taught me is that signing a contract with a publisher is not the end of the journey, but only the very, very beginning! There’s so much more stress and angst ahead (ahahaha sorry! that’s probably not encouraging)

    The thing about writing is that if it’s what you love, your passion to pursue it will only grow stronger under trial. 🙂

    • M. Ziegler says:

      Okay. I would love to know how you got into a publisher! That is supposed to be harder then finding an agent. Too interesting. There is never an easy road. I agree though. If you love writing you find the strength to move on.

  3. Kelly Hashway says:

    Hmm, I started writing “for real” (I’ve written all my life but this is when I thought I’d give novels a try) in December 2004. I wrote some awful books and decided to go back to school to learn more about the craft. I started querying agents 5 years later in December 2009. I took two breaks while querying to rework my query, enter contests, and revise my manuscript again. Then I signed with my agent on Valentine’s Day 2011. My first book comes out January 2013. Yeah, it takes patience. LOL

    • M. Ziegler says:

      I think I heard somewhere that on average it takes about 10 years for a writer to get published. That isn’t the most heart warming but once you get going and learning I think it becomes apparent. I have learned so much and am still learning. I am impressed that you went back to school. I have considered that myself but the cost and time has been holding me back. I can’t decide if you can learn everything from all the books out there or if classes are the way to go. Thanks for your experience.

Leave a Reply

