Books: Did I Really Like it, or Was There a Specific Element?

I’m reading a YA series right now and found myself reading through to see how one particular element or plot point ended up. Have you ever found yourself reading on because one of the more simple points of a story speaks to you rather then the story itself?

This got me thinking. In certain genres maybe the story isn’t really why we read, it is more the casing for an element we want to know about. This might be the difference from a character driven story vs a plot driven story. I’m not sure though.

The story I am reading has lots going on, but the only thing I cared about was the love story. I found myself skipping over entire paragraphs that were plot or other portions of the story. I somewhat debated even reading past book one until I cheated and read reviews. I had to know the romance continued. I am not saying book one wasn’t good, it was. In fact it had me engrossed for several days, but that wasn’t enough to make me read on.

What are your thoughts or reasons for either making it through a book or a series? The characters, the love story, the human interest, a political twist? I have to have a strong feeling for a character but most of all there has to be romance. That would make you think I don’t read a variety of genre,s but in reality it seems like most genres have some kind of love story buried.

6 thoughts on “Books: Did I Really Like it, or Was There a Specific Element?

  1. Kiersi says:

    I am JUST like you–sometimes I’ll finish a book I’m not into just to see how the romance will turn out. Recently I’ve been watching a TV show for the same reason, even though I don’t like any of the other characters in it! Haha. I always try to remember, though, there are other books out there with better love stories. At some point it’s worth just setting aside.

    • M. Ziegler says:

      I guess it makes me wonder how the book got published or maybe that is how they got popular. Different areas of the book appeal to many different types of people? Glad someone else is a romance junky.

  2. quaniemitchell says:

    That happens to me, too. I recently read a book and wasn’t interested in the love story or anything else except “the thing that happened to the guy 20 years ago.” I read for that only. If I hadn’t been reading it for my book club I probably would have skipped whole sections, too.

    • M. Ziegler says:

      And there is a perfect case where back-story is not wasted 🙂 I have done that too, wanted to hear about the past more then the present.
      So the question is… was the book really good or not?

Leave a Reply

